The College Report: Outstanding Students

This week in college news, SUNY Orange Honors students invade Philly, New Paltz picks their top performing educational graduates, and SUNY Ulster un-complicates the math for a winning strategy in todays post....

Seven SUNY ORANGE Honors Program students were selected to present at the Northeast Regional Honors Council conference in Philadelphia in April. During this year’s three-day student-centered event, a mix of more than 250 papers, interactive sessions, posters and roundtable discussions were led by students. It is the first time SUNY Orange students have been picked for this prestigious academic/honors conference. Check them out listed by hometown!


Representing SUNY Orange were: back row from left; Maggie Damken (Middletown), Nick Zazzi (Newburgh), Molly McNeely (Middletown) and Jessica Bruehert (Washingtonville); and seated from left: Kayla Volpe (Middletown), Megan Cutone (Port Jervis) and Joanna Dykeman (Montgomery).


SUNY NEW PALTZ - Congratulations to outstanding graduate Rebecca Pence ('13) and outstanding intern Daniele Cowan ('13) being recognized by SUNY New Paltz Teaching, Learning and Leadership luncheon.

The Educational Administration advanced degree programs prepare administrators and school leaders to meet the challenges of a diverse and demanding educational environment. SUNY New Paltz offers a Master’s degree with a concentration in Educational Leadership and four CAS programs. An accelerated 15-month CAS program will be offered beginning this summer in School Building Leadership and School District Leadership.

Programs such as Educational Administration offered by SUNY New Paltz support one of SUNY’s Six Big Ideas, the Seamless Education Pipeline, providing opportunities for advanced education and continued career success.

“We have forged unprecedented levels of collaboration and partnership with the state’s school districts, communities, and businesses,” said SUNY Chancellor Nancy Zimpher. Taken together, the sum of SUNY’s efforts ensure not only that all New York State students have access to the quality public higher education our campuses provide, but also that they have the supports and tools they need to complete their education and translate their degrees into successful careers.”

The luncheon will be held on Thursday, May 9, at 11:30 a.m. in the Student Union Building Multipurpose room.

SUNY Ulster’s Math Team placed fourth in the New York State Mathematics Association of Two Year Colleges (NYSMATYC) statewide test.

The college finished in the top 90th percentile of the 33 two-year colleges in the 2012-2013 state competition. Highest scorers were: first, Gregory Hedlund; second, Patrick Buchalski and Alexi Samolsky; third, John Campbell and Amy Rogers; fourth, Andrew Hunt and Matthew Mancsco; fifth, John Dolan and Matt Price; sixth place, Peter Vellos, Courtney Sheeley, Travis Jeffrey, David Weddle and Tabetha Kennedy.

“In a competition like this it’s not about winning or what place you rank but about students taking time from their busy schedules for academic pursuit outside of the classroom to learn about, think about and have fun with mathematics,” said SUNY Ulster Math Professor Jules Albertini. “We had more students that ever participate and this is a testament to the support of our department and beyond from the Ulster Community College Foundation Office, administration, the entire faculty and staff across campus.”


SUNY Ulster team members taking the exam were: Nicholas Brown, Samantha Bruck, Patrick Buchalski, Ethan Burwell, Amanda Cabanillas, Jose Cabrora, John Campbell, Vincent Carcaramo, Alexander Carey, Stevana Coliukos, Colleen Conway, Craig Diaz, John Dolan, Samantha Gilman, Gregory Hedlund, Erick Herrera, Andrew Hunt, Travis Jeffrey, Lea Kelly, Sherman Kenly, Tabetha Kennedy, Jesse Keplinger, Fayem Khan, Joe Krein, Bryon Krempl, Sonja Leemets, Michelle Linneman, James Mahany, Matthew Mancsco, Anthony Mazzurco, Danielle Moruzzi, Muriel O’Toole-Pacheco, Justin Paul, Kieran Pierce, Matt Price, Paul Pritchard, Amy Rogers, Kyle Rooney, David Rothe, Stefan Ryan, Joel Saint-Furman, Alexi Samolsky, Madison Schirripa, Courtney Sheeley, Erik Teneyenhuis, Peter Vellos, David Weddle and Jessyca Wolcott.